Connect with us

Alabama Crimson Tide

Alabama names permanent captains, team award winners

Alabama held its team awards banquet Sunday evening at the Birmingham Sheraton.

Running back Damien Harris, center Ross Pierschbacher, tight end Hale Hentges and linebacker Christian Miller were selected as the Crimson Tide’s four permanent team captains for this season. Alabama has also handed out numerous awards, including team MVP.

Here’s a rundown of the award winners:

Unsung Hero Award (To the players who have made significant contributions to the success of the team and received the least recognition for it): Left guard Deionte Brown, offensive lineman Lester Cotton, running back Najee Harris, wide receiver Derek Kief, cornerback Saivion Smith

Outstanding Senior Scholar (To the seniors with the highest GPA)

Safety Keaton Anderson, Hentges

Commitment to Academic Excellence Award (To the players who have demonstrated the greatest commitment and achievement in his academic endeavors during the previous year)

Defensive back Shyheim Carter, tight end Miller Forristall, quarterback Jalen Hurts, right guard Alex Leatherwood, defensive lineman LaBryan Ray, right tackle Jedrick Wills

Iron Man Award (To the players who have shown the most dedication to the individual and team goals of the Crimson Tide’s year-round strength and conditioning program)

Running back Ronnie Clark, defensive lineman Johnny Dwight, defensive lineman Phidarian Mathis, Ray

Most Inspiring Player (To the player who affects the whole team by his attitude as well as his performance) *** Voted on by the players)


Pat Trammel Award (To a senior player whose character and contributions to the Alabama Football Team most personify the All-American youth of today and has reflected qualities of integrity, character, importance of academics and inspirational leadership during their time at Alabama)

Offensive lineman Joshua Casher, linebacker Jamey Mosley

Outstanding Defensive Performer (To the players with the most tackles/points)

Linebacker Anfernee Jennings, Miller, safety Deionte Thompson, defensive lineman Quinnen Williams

Up-Front Award (To the outstanding linemen from each unit)

Defensive lineman Isaiah Buggs, defensive lineman Raekwon Davis, Leatherwood, Wills

Defensive Achievement Award (To the players who have played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit)

Carter, linebacker Dylan Moses, cornerback Patrick Surtain, linebacker Mack Wilson

Offensive Achievement Award (To the players who have played a critical role in the effectiveness of this unit)

Harris, running back Josh Jacobs, wide receiver Henry Ruggs, tight end Irv Smith

President’s Award (To a player from each unit who has shown perseverance in making outstanding contributions to the team’s success)

Hentges, Hurts, wide receiver DeVonta Smith, left tackle Jonah Williams

Jefferson County Distinguished Alumnus Award (A former player who has exemplified the principles, values, character and attitude that make a person successful either during a particular life experience or over a period of time)

Bob Baumhower

Special Teams Player of the Year Award (To the most valuable special teams players)

Anderson, Jacobs, linebacker Ale Kaho, wide receiver/punt returner Jaylen Waddle

Offensive Player of the Year Award (To the most valuable offensive players)

Wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, Pierschbacher, quarterback Tua Tagovailoa

Defensive Player of the Year Award (To the most valuable defensive players)

Buggs, safety Xavier McKinney, Williams

Most Valuable Player Award (To the overall most valuable player on the team) *** Voted on by the players


Matt Zenitz is an Alabama and Auburn reporter for the Alabama Media Group. Follow him on Twitter @mzenitz.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Alabama Crimson Tide