Connect with us

Alabama Crimson Tide

Alabama players win several SEC awards

Alabama players won four of the seven SEC awards voted on by the league’s coaches.

The award winners were announced Wednesday afternoon. Among them were those four Crimson Tide players — Alabama’s Heisman finalist, the Tide’s star freshman receiver and two offensive veterans.

After being named AP SEC Offensive Player of the Year earlier in the week, Tua Tagovailoa is now the SEC Offensive Player of the Year as voted on by the coaches.

In addition, Jaylen Waddle is the SEC Freshman of the Year, tight end Hale Hentges is the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year and left tackle Jonah Williams won the Jacobs Blocking Trophy.

Waddle leads SEC freshmen with seven touchdown catches and an average of 61.8 receiving yards per game. The former four-star recruit is also second in the SEC with an average of 15.1 yards per punt return.

Hentges, who has two touchdown catches, graduated Magna Cum Laude in three years and is now pursuing a master’s degree in marketing. The senior has a 4.0 GPA in his master’s program.

Williams is one of the nation’s top offensive linemen. The junior has helped Alabama average an SEC-best 527.6 yards per game of total offense.

Of the other three awards, two went to people from Kentucky.

Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen won SEC Defensive Player of the Year. Kentucky’s Mark Stoops is the SEC Coach of the Year. Texas A&M punter Braden Mann claimed SEC Special Teams Player of the Year.

Matt Zenitz is an Alabama and Auburn reporter for the Alabama Media Group. Follow him on Twitter @mzenitz.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Alabama Crimson Tide