Connect with us

Alabama Crimson Tide

Alabama roots: 7 players earn Pro Bowl invitations

Seven players with Alabama football roots have been chosen to play in the Pro Bowl for the 2018 season, with five named as starters for the NFL’s annual all-star game.

The players from state high schools and colleges chosen for the Pro Bowl included:

· New York Giants strong safety Landon Collins (Alabama)

· Kansas City Chiefs outside linebacker Dee Ford (St. Clair County, Auburn)

· Kansas City Chiefs wide receiver Tyreek Hill (West Alabama)

· Chicago Bears free safety Eddie Jackson (Alabama)

· Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Julio Jones (Foley, Alabama)

· Baltimore Ravens middle linebacker C.J. Mosley (Theodore, Alabama)

· Los Angeles Chargers quarterback Philip Rivers (Athens)

Collins, Jackson and Jones were chosen as starters for the NFC team. Hill and Mosley made the starting lineup for the AFC all-stars.

Ford and Jackson are first-time Pro Bowlers while Rivers was picked for the eighth time. Jones earned his sixth Pro Bowl selection, Mosley was picked for the fourth time and Collins and Hill are Pro Bowlers for the third time apiece. Hill previously had gone to the game as a return specialist, but he’s a wide receiver this time.

The 44-player rosters for the AFC and NFC teams were determined by the votes of fans, coaches and players, with each group’s results counting one-third in the selection process.

The Pro Bowl will be played at 2 p.m. Jan. 27 at Camping World Stadium in Orlando, Florida. ESPN will televise the game.


The Pro Bowl rosters announced on Tuesday night included:



Quarterbacks: Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs, starter; Tom Brady, Patriots; Philip Rivers, Chargers.

Wide receivers: Tyreek Hill, Chiefs, starter; DeAndre Hopkins, Texans, starter; Keenan Allen, Chargers; Antonio Brown, Steelers, starter.

Running backs: James Conner, Steelers, starter; Melvin Gordon, Chargers; Phillip Lindsay, Broncos.

Fullback: Anthony Sherman, Chiefs.

Tight ends: Travis Kelce, Chiefs, starter; Eric Ebron, Colts.

Offensive tackles: Taylor Lewan, Titans, starter; Alejandro Villanueva, Steelers, starter; Eric Fisher, Chiefs.

Guards: Davis DeCastro, Steelers, starter; Marshal Yanda, Ravens, starter; Quenton Nelson, Colts.

Centers: Maurkice Pouncey, Steelers, starter; Mike Pouncey, Chargers.


Defensive ends: Myles Garrett, Browns, starter; J.J. Watt, Texans, starter; Melvin Gordon, Chargers.

Defensive tackles: Geno Atkins, Bengals, starter; Jurrell Casey, Titans, starter; Cameron Heyward, Steelers.

Outside linebackers: Jadeveon Clowney, Texans, starter; Von Miller, Broncos, starter; Dee Ford, Chiefs.

Inside linebackers: C.J. Mosley, Ravens, starter; Benardrick McKinney, Texans.

Cornerbacks: Xavien Howard, Dolphins, starter; Jalen Ramsey, Jaguars, starter; Stephon Gilmore, Patriots; Denzel Ward, Browns.

Free safeties: Derwin James, Chargers; Eric Weddle, Ravens.

Strong safety: Jamal Adams, Jets, starter.


Punter: Brett Kern, Titans.

Place-kicker: Jason Myers, Jets.

Return specialist: Andre Roberts, Jets.

Special teamer: Adrian Phillips, Chargers.



Quarterbacks: Drew Brees, Saints, starter; Jared Goff, Rams; Aaron Rodgers, Packers.

Wide receivers: Julio Jones, Falcons, starter; Michael Thomas, Saints, starter; Davante Adams, Packers; Adam Thielen, Vikings.

Running backs: Todd Gurley, Rams, starter; Saquon Barkley, Giants; Ezekiel Elliott, Cowboys.

Fullback: Kyle Juszczyk, 49ers.

Tight ends: Zach Ertz, Eagles, starter; George Kittle, 49ers.

Offensive tackles: Terron Armstead, Saints; Tyron Smith, Cowboys, starter; Trent Williams, Redskins.

Guards: Brandon Brooks, Eagles, starter; Zack Martin, Cowboys, starter; Trai Turner, Panthers.

Centers: Alex Mack, Falcons, starter; Max Unger, Saints.


Defensive ends: Cameron Jordan, Saints, starter; Demarcus Lawrence, Cowboys, starter; Danielle Hunter, Vikings.

Defensive tackles: Fletcher Cox, Eagles, starter; Aaron Donald, Rams, starter; Akiem Hicks, Bears.

Outside linebackers: Ryan Kerrigan, Redskins, starter; Khalil Mack, Bears, starter; Anthony Barr, Vikings.

Inside linebackers: Luke Kuechly, Panthers, starter; Bobby Wagner, Seahawks.

Cornerbacks: Patrick Peterson, Cardinals, starter; Kyle Fuller, Bears, starter; Byron Jones, Cowboys; Darius Slay, Lions.

Free safeties: Eddie Jackson, Bears, starter; Harrison Smith, Vikings.

Strong safety: Landon Collins, Giants, starter.


Punter: Michael Dickson, Seahawks.

Place-kicker: Aldrick Ross, Giants.

Return specialist: Tarik Cohen, Bears.

Special teamer: Corey Littleton, Chargers.

Mark Inabinett is a sports reporter for Alabama Media Group. Follow him on Twitter at @AMarkG1.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Alabama Crimson Tide