Connect with us

Alabama Crimson Tide

Alabama trio named semifinalists for Walter Camp, Outland awards

Three Alabama players have been named semifinalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award and the Outland Trophy, it was announced Wednesday. Defensive tackle Quinnen Williams was named a semifinalist for both awards, while quarterback Tua Tagovailoa was a semifinalist for the Walter Camp and left tackle Jonah Williams was a semifinalist for the Outland.

The Walter Camp Player of the Year is given annually to the best player in college football, while the Outland Trophy is awarded to the nation’s best interior lineman on offense or defense.

Williams, a redshirt sophomore, leads unbeaten Alabama with 14.0 tackles for loss and is tied for 11th in the SEC with 5.0 sacks. He posted a career game against LSU, tallying career highs in tackles (10) and sacks (2.5) and tying a career high in tackles for loss (3.5). Williams clogs the middle and allows those around him to create havoc — UA has had at least 10 tackles for loss in five of 10 games. The Tide’s 36 sacks (3.60 per game) are both tied for No. 3 nationally.

He is also a semifinalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award and a finalist for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy.

Tagovailoa ranks second nationally in passer rating (207.68) and yards per attempt (11.7) behind Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray. Tagovailoa and Murray are the only two passers with 200-plus passer ratings and double-digit yards per attempt. Tagovailoa has 28 scoring tosses in 10 games this year, which is tied for second on the Alabama single-season touchdown list. The sophomore has thrown for 2,525 yards, 28 touchdowns and two interceptions through 11 games and is also a semifinalist for the 2018 Maxwell Award and Davey O’Brien Award.

Williams, the left tackle for the unbeaten Crimson Tide, continues to pace the nation’s No. 5 offense. Williams was the Outland Trophy Offensive Player of the Month for September after grading out above 90 percent for the month. The junior has started all 39 games in his career and had perhaps his best game against LSU when Alabama averaged 7.6 yards per rush and gained 576 yards against a then-Top-10 defense and allowed only one sack on a season-high 42 pass attempts. Alabama only yields 0.67 sacks per game, fourth nationally. 

Four Crimson Tide players have won the Outland previously, including Chris Samuels (1999), Andre Smith (2008), Barrett Jones (2011) and most recently Cam Robinson in 2016. Only Derrick Henry (2015) has brought home the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award for Alabama.

Other Alabama players named national semifinalists: 

William V. Campbell Trophy — Hale Hentges 

Senior CLASS Award — Hale Hentges* 

Maxwell Award — Tua Tagovailoa 

Chuck Bednarik Award — Deionte Thompson, Quinnen Williams 

Butkus Award — Dylan Moses, Mack Wilson 

Davey O’Brien Award — Tua Tagovailoa 

Blanchard-Rogers Trophy — Christian Miller* 

Biletnikoff Award — Jerry Jeudy

Bronko Nagurski Trophy — Quinnen Williams*

Walter Camp Player of the Year — Tua Tagovailoa, Quinnen Williams

Outland Trophy — Jonah Williams, Quinnen Williams 

* indicates the player is a finalist

Contact Charlie Potter by 247Sports’ personal messaging or on Twitter (@Charlie_Potter).

*** Don’t miss a VIP update with our FREE trial of BamaOnLine. Sign up HERE ***

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Alabama Crimson Tide