Connect with us

Alabama Crimson Tide

Alabama trio named winners at College Football Awards show

Multiple Alabama players are bringing hardware back to Tuscaloosa.

Crimson Tide wide receiver Jerry Jeudy, defensive tackle Quinnen Williams and quarterback Tua Tagovailoa were the recipients of the Biletnikoff Award, Outland Trophy, Maxwell Award, respectively, on Thursday night at The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The Biletnikoff Award is presented to the nation’s top wide receiver. Jeudy became just the second Alabama wide receiver to win the annual award, joining Amari Cooper, who won it during 2014.

Jeudy leads an Alabama offense with 1,103 receiving yards and 12 touchdowns on 59 receptions. His 84.8 receiving yards per game ranks second in the SEC, while his 18.69 yards per reception ranks third. His 10-yard, game-tying touchdown reception in the SEC title game was Jeudy’s 12th scoring catch of the season, which was good for second on the Alabama single-season touchdown receptions list behind school record holder Cooper, who caught 16 in 2014.

“I’m really surprised,” Jeudy said after winning the award in Atlanta. “All these other two guys really did a great job this year, too. So, I knew it was going to be a tough decision.” 

The Outland Trophy is given to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman, and Williams won the award over teammate and Alabama left tackle Jonah Williams. The former was also a finalist for the Chuck Bednarik Award on Thursday, which went to Kentucky’s  Josh Allen.

Williams is UA’s third-leading tackler with 66 total stops and leads the team with 18 tackles for loss. The redshirt sophomore has contributed eight sacks, 11 quarterback hurries and one pass breakup. 

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa (Photo: Courtesy of Alabama Athletics)

Alabama has had four players win the Outland Trophy — Chris Samuels in 1999, Andre Smith in 2008, Barrett Jones in 2011 and Cam Robinson in 2016. Jones presented the 2018 award. 

“Oh, I feel good,” Williams said. It’s a great opportunity, a great compliment that I have. I’m just proud to be part of the group of guys that won.”

The Maxwell Award is annually presented to the nation’s College Player of the Year. It was the second of two honors for Tagovailoa on Thursday, as the sophomore quarterback was named the Walter Camp Player of the Year prior to the award show in Atlanta. He was also a finalist for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award, but Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray won that.

In 13 games, Tagovailoa has thrown for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns with just four interceptions on 199-of-294 passing (67.7 percent) this season. The sophomore is tied for second on the Crimson Tide’s career touchdown pass list with 48 and has thrown for 300 or more yards an Alabama-record five times this season. His 42 combined passing and rushing touchdowns are also an Alabama single-season record. His six total touchdowns (five passing, one rushing) against Auburn on Nov. 24 were also a school single-game record.

Previous Alabama student-athletes who have been honored with the award include Derrick Henry (2015) and AJ McCarron (2013). Tagovalioa brings the Crimson Tide’s total to three. 

“It feels good, but it couldn’t have been done without the guys surrounding me offensively,” Tagovailoa said. All credit goes to them, and all credit goes to the coaching staff, as well.”

To cap the awards show, Tagovailoa, Jeudy and both Williams were named first-teamers on the Walter Camp All-America Team. Safety Deionte Thompson and linebacker Dylan Moses were named to Walter Camp’s second-team All-Americans. The six honorees lead the nation.

Contact Charlie Potter by 247Sports’ personal messaging or on Twitter (@Charlie_Potter).

*** Don’t miss a VIP update with our FREE trial of BamaOnLine. Sign up HERE ***

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Alabama Crimson Tide