Connect with us

Alabama Crimson Tide

Bo Nix, Tua and Jalen Hurts honored by National Quarterback Club

Looks like Pinson Valley’s Bo Nix might need to get a bigger trophy case.

The Auburn quarterback commit has received another award, this time a national one, for his 2018 season.

Nix is one two quarterbacks honored in the 2018 National Quarterback of the Year Awards from National Quarterback Club, alongside Spencer Rattler, an Oklahoma commit from of Pinnacle (Arizona) High in Phoenix, Arizona.

Nix capped his senior season by leading Pinson Valley to the Class 6A championship Friday night, throwing two touchdowns and running for another in a 26-17 victory over Saraland.

Nix was named the Alabama Gatorade Player of the Year last week and won the MVP award at Friday’s championship game.

Pinson Valley wins Class 6A title

But Nix won’t be Alabama’s only representatives at the awards ceremony next month in Arizona.

The organization will honor Alabama quarterbacks Tua Tagovailoa and Jalen Hurts as its top college quarterbacks.

Tagovailoa supplanted Hurts as Alabama’s starter this year and finished runner-up in Heisman Trophy voting, passing for 3,353 yards with 37 touchdowns and four interceptions. Hurts accepted his back-up role, after two years as the Crimson Tide’s starter, and came off the bench to lead Alabama’s second-half comeback in a 35-28 victory over Georgia in the SEC Championship Game.

Tua reinvented Alabama football

Nix accounted for 57 touchdowns this season, finishing 267-for-446 passing for 3,802 yards and 50 touchdowns and seven interceptions and running 54 times for 417 and seven touchdowns. He became the first AHSAA player to surpass 12,000 yards in career total offense and set a new career record for total touchdowns — combining passing and rushing — with 161.

The pro quarterback of the year is New Orleans star Drew Brees, who set the NFL record for career passing yards earlier this season.

The award, sponsored by the Washington, D.C.-based National Quarterback Club and Arizona’s Grand Canyon State Gridiron Club, will be presented on Jan. 19, 2019. The winners were announced Saturday night.

Josh Bean covers high school sports for

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Alabama Crimson Tide