Connect with us

Alabama Crimson Tide

Ross Pierschbacher named a finalist for the Rimington Trophy

Alabama redshirt senior center Ross Pierschbacher has been named one of three finalists for the Rimington Trophy, which is annually presented to the most outstanding center in college football.

After making 42 career starts at left guard in his first three years playing for the Crimson Tide, Pierschbacher transitioned to center for the 2018 season, where he helped open holes for the nation’s 32nd ranked rushing offense, No. 2 scoring offense, No. 3 total offense. He earned midseason All-America first team honors from the AP, was on the Outland Trophy watch list, as well at the Rimington, and earned SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week accolades for his play at Arkansas.

Pierschbacher is a part of an Alabama offensive line that is a semifinalist for the Joe Moore Award. On Sunday, he was announced as one of the Tide’s permanent team captains, which are voted on by teammates. Earlier Monday, he was named first-team All-SEC by the AP.

“Ross has been really, really good,” Alabama head coach Nick Saban said. “He’s very confident, a very bright guy, really understands what we need to do up front. I think the players have a lot of confidence in him as the center making the call, so it’s kind of a natural position for him to be able to be a leader. He certainly has embraced that role and that challenge and I think done a really good job all year long.”

Joining Pierschbacher as finalists are Notre Dame’s Sam Mustipher and NC State’s Garrett Bradbury.

The winner of the Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from three existing All-America teams. While more than a dozen All-America teams are selected annually, the Rimington Trophy Committee uses these three teams to determine a winner: Walter Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America.

The Rimington winner will be presented live during the ESPNU Red Carpet Show on Thursday, Dec. 6, immediately preceding the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show. Both shows will originate from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta. The winner will also be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation in Lincoln, Nebraska on Saturday, Jan. 12.

Two Alabama centers have won the award in Barrett Jones in 2012 and Ryan Kelly in 2015. 

Other Alabama players, coaches named national finalists:    

Senior CLASS Award — Hale Hentges   

Maxwell Award — Tua Tagovailoa   

Chuck Bednarik Award — Quinnen Williams   

Davey O’Brien Award — Tua Tagovailoa   

Biletnikoff Award — Jerry Jeudy   

Bronko Nagurski Trophy — Quinnen Williams   

Walter Camp Player of the Year — Tua Tagovailoa  

Outland Trophy — Jonah Williams, Quinnen Williams   

Dick Butkus Award — Dylan Moses   

Joe Moore Award — Alabama offensive line*   

Broyles Award — Mike Locksley  

George Munger College Coach of the Year Award — Nick Saban*  

Rimington Trophy — Ross Pierschbacher 

* indicates the player, coach is a semifinalist

Contact Charlie Potter by 247Sports’ personal messaging or on Twitter (@Charlie_Potter).

*** Don’t miss a VIP update with our FREE trial of BamaOnLine. Sign up HERE ***

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


More in Alabama Crimson Tide